Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

new and need advice. :)

Posted by on Mar. 28, 2011 at 4:42 AM
  • 1 Replies
  • 282 Total Views

Hey there.

I'll start by giving you a short intro on myself.

My name is Liz, I am 23 years old and live in Phoenix, AZ with my DH Nick and our (almost) 4 year old son, Chris. Currently I work in healthcare as a Tech, and I love my job.

I have a small predicament and I am seeking some advice from you fellow ladies out there. :)

Since I was 17 I have really wanted to join the Air Force. I actually went and passed my ASVAB test, did everything and then my parents wouldn't let me join. My step dad is a bit hard headed and  said that "women didn't belong in the military." However, I disagree. I gave up that dream the day I met my husband and never looked back. Or so I thought....

Recently, my husband brought up the 'air force' topic with me and pointed out some things I didn't realize. I knew I had spoken to him and told him how when I was younger I wanted to join. But he told me its more than that. He told me that whenever we walk by a recruiter for the AF I have to stop and look and I just stand there, like its calling for me.

He stopped me one day in the mall and told me "Baby, you know if thats what you want to do, I support you. You know I love you and I'd miss you so much. But, I wont hold you back."

I'm crying right now, cuz this sucks.

See, I do still want this. I do want to go into the airforce still. But everytime I think about my family, my son and husband alone for the possible year deployments my heart hurts.

If you ladies could please help me by sharing some stories if your in th emilitary, stories of the trials and benefits.Or send me anything that might help me, I would REALLY appreciate it.

by on Mar. 28, 2011 at 4:42 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-1):
airforcewife36