Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

New . . . to this board and being a AF wife!

Posted by on Feb. 13, 2009 at 11:59 AM
  • 6 Replies
  • 300 Total Views

Hey everyone. My DH just got sworn in yesterday, so now I'm going to be a military wife! I would just like some pointers on how to deal with everything - basic training, moving, him being deployed, ect. He's wanting to get into Secuity Forces, and if the recruiter's telling the truth, he has a very good chance of already having a job. We have one 19 month old son and another due next week. I'm just very new to all this, and need all the tips I can get. I know I'm not going to have to do anything until he gets done with basic and training, but I'd just like to know what's going to happen after all that! Thank you!

Lilypie 2nd Birthday Ticker
Lilypie Expecting a baby Ticker
by on Feb. 13, 2009 at 11:59 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
Duhannyell
by New Member on Feb. 16, 2009 at 6:36 AM

I too am new to being a military wife, and for me, its just something you learn as you go. My husband is actually in security forces, stationed in great falls, montana.. it's a hard thing to deal with, but the AF does try to take care of you  and your family. Try to get base housing if youre worried about bills and what not, thats what we did and you dont have to pay for anything except your own personal bills. (which you prolly already knew) lolbut we were on a waiting list for a few months, so i'd start that right away. Im not sure wether or not you can go ahead and do that, or if you have to wait for him to come back?

Like i said i'm new too! lol