Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How to do meal planning

Posted by on Sep. 2, 2011 at 3:08 PM
  • 10 Replies

I am new to meal planning and usually just "wing it".  What is the best way to start?

by on Sep. 2, 2011 at 3:08 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Terri441
by on Sep. 2, 2011 at 4:07 PM

My favorite thing to do is sit down with a few of my favorite cookbooks, and a good idea of what I have in my pantry. Then I find (per week, sometimes I do 1, 2, or more weeks worth) 2-3 chicken recipes, 1 red meat recipe, and 2-3 vegetarian recipes and I plan for a day of leftovers per week. Then I plan for what I need for groceries, and voila...

I don't know that it's the best way but it's worked well for me :)

La-Belle-Vie
by on Sep. 2, 2011 at 4:41 PM

For me I use to go to the store daily or every other day and that got really expensive and this was before the cost of groceries went up.  I then went to meal planning and just started doing it for a week at first (I only did it Mon-Fri starting out). 

I sat down and went through my cook books and online recipes and picked out my favorites.

I do not really stick to days I just pick from the meals I have and out of those make what I feel like eating for dinner that night.

Then sit down and write out a grocery list, this includes everything that I need to make for the dinners, snacks, dairy, breakfast and lunch foods too. 

It may be a little intimidating at first but so worth it.  It saves money and gets you organized as well. 

When I am drawing a blank on what else to do for dinners I ask my husband and son what they want.

I also usually when planning my meals for 2 weeks leave a couple nights open for leftover nights. 

Welcome to the group :)

jessicasmom1
by on Sep. 2, 2011 at 5:25 PM

Welcome to the group,