Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Meal Planning Meal Planning

Weekly CSA

Posted by on May. 23, 2012 at 9:57 PM
  • 27 Replies

I thought since this is my first year as a member of a CSA that it would be fun and helpful to share each week what came in my box.  I have ideas for some of it this week, but there's so much that I could use some help in how to use the rest.  If you're in a CSA, please post what you've received and any ideas for cooking, or questions for how to use any of it.

This week it filled our 40 qt ice chest and I had to get creative just to get it all in the fridge!
turnips
beets
spring onions (They're beautiful! Nice green stems and pretty purple bulbs.)
chard
tosano kale
lettuce mix
winterbor kale
cilantro
basil

Then we also bought a single bunch of orange fleshed beets, fresh garlic and 3 pounds of new potatoes.  The taters are for tater salad Monday and I'll use green onion tops in that also.

I'm planning to make kale chips with most of the kale.  I haven't tried this yet, but the foodie bloggers rave about how good they are.  The lettuce will be used for salads and I'll switch up Friday's dinner from parmesan chicken to hamburgers and use some lettuce there too (I never made chicken earlier in the week to have any ready for parmesan anyway).  I'll make salsa with the cilantro and some of the onions, and I've got some gorgeous small red tomatoes too.

So, what to do with these?
Chard-just braised?
Basil-I know it's good for Italian dishes, any other ideas?
Beets & turnips?

Other produce I have on hand to use with any of this are russet potatoes, peaches, apricots, celery, a few carrots, lots of yellow squash, onions, cucumbers, artichokes, green beans and zucchini and broccoli.  We have chicken, beef and pork.

I could juice some/any of the veggies and I'm going to make the soup that I posted last night using some of the kale and chard.

Hungry yet?  :-)