Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Meal Planning Meal Planning

new to this....

Posted by on May. 23, 2013 at 8:22 PM
  • 11 Replies

hey my name is alison and im new to meal planning, my fiance and i recently moved in with some of his family so now there are 5 of us living together and ive noticed that the food dont last long in this house at all.... for the most part all 5 of us are home for breakfast, lunch and dinner so food goes quickly. im looking to start planning meals for everyone to make food last a bit longer but i have no idea where to start.... were on a budget of about $200 for the month for food so i was wondering if any of you would be willing to help me out by sharing how you do it or share some meal ideas!!!!!

thanks in advance ladies !!!!!

by on May. 23, 2013 at 8:22 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
louannwilkins
by on May. 23, 2013 at 9:29 PM

Hello Alison and welcome to the group!!  I'm sure you will like it here!  :)

What I try to do for saving money is buy things when they're on sale.  If hamburger is on sale try to buy a couple of packs and then seperate it into freezer bags.  I'm just using that as an example but it could be anything.  I also use coupons and look for sales where they either double or triple them.  Good luck!!  I'm sure you'll get lots of good tips here.   :)

bhwrn1
by on May. 24, 2013 at 5:28 AM

Welcome Alison! 
I'm not sure about $200/month. Food is very expensive where I am, so that would only be 1 week of groceries here! Do you coupon? I do a lot of coupons. I also make sure I look at the fliers and plan from that. Whatever is on sale, that is how I plan. I buy a lot of generic stuff too, when I can. 

firsttimer612
by on May. 24, 2013 at 11:13 AM
No i currently dont, i would love to learn how to do it like on extreme couponers lol or close to it

Quoting bhwrn1:

Welcome Alison!