Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Love & Marriage Love & Marriage

How many of us work OUTside the home ?

Posted by on Dec. 26, 2010 at 11:49 AM
  • 14 Replies

What do you do ? I am a ASHM now but was a police dispatcher for 10 years prior to staying home and an Administrator for a large security group for 4 years prior to that . What do you like about your job and what kind of routine do you have at home due to your work?

       

by on Dec. 26, 2010 at 11:49 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
booksrme
by on Dec. 26, 2010 at 7:19 PM

I work as a clinical research associate. I monitor preFDA approved drugs for pharmaceutical companies. I telecommute for the most part. I travel to other cities and states several times a month. My husband stays at home so our routine stays about the same. Our daughter is in mother's day out twice a week so that gives us a break. . 

roxxyt
by on Dec. 26, 2010 at 9:08 PM

Not sure what I am anymore LOL, I work for my Hubby, we have a commercial roofing company, sometimes I stay home if I'm behind on things around the house, and some weeks I go to the office everyday. Alot of the stuff I do I can do from home, I do alot on online work, such as looking at blueprints and specs to see if the job is right for us to bid on. The youngest one we have at home is 16 and she is starting online schooling for the next semester so I will be helping alot for her and she can go to the office with me and do her stuff there also. So to be honest not sure.

2N1mom
by on Dec. 26, 2010 at 9:14 PM

I work at Subway, and am going to school online. With 3 kids at home and one on the way it's hard to find time or energy for anything else. Luckily my dh is extremely patient and understanding. I just can't wait to get to the middle of this pregnancy..the beginning is exhausting!

Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers
Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
Lilypie Maternity tickers
Amy614
by on Dec. 26, 2010 at 9:15 PM

I work as the lead infant teacher at a child care center.  DD and DS go to work with me, but DS is dropped off in the preschool room.  DD stays with me in the infant room, through mid-January.  On the mornings DH is home, he gets the kids up about 5:30, gets them dressed, and gives DS a snack.  I get ready starting around 5:00 (so I can shower and stuff), then BF DD.  We are usually out the door by 6:15.  At work/daycare til about 3:15-3:30 depending on how long it takes me to get the kids together and in the car.  Snacks at home, if needed, then just hanging out til supper (DH and I take turns cooking, depending on who feels like doing it), then bath, movie, books, and to bed for the kids around 7 or 7:15.  I am to bed by between 9 nd 10 so we can get up in the morning and do it over.

mylilboy00
by on Dec. 26, 2010 at 11:19 PM

Currently I work as the match support specialist for Big Brothers Big Sisters but soon I will be a stay at home mommy! I'm so excited. Ive been given the opportunity to babysit a family members baby which will allow me to still bring in an income but also stay at home with my kids :)

MadysonsMama
by on Dec. 26, 2010 at 11:48 PM

I work as a daycare provider and go to school online full time.:)

LilysMommy813
by on Dec. 26, 2010 at 11:54 PM
I am a labor and delivery RN, I work night shift 7p-7a, love my job and love to be at home but flip flopping between day and night can be super exhausting.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
SMRagan
by on Dec. 27, 2010 at 12:12 AM
I worked for over 20 years. Did many different things, actually worked for in auto insurance. About 16 months ago I started having many health issues, so now I am a SAHM. If I had an option I would be working but don't think that will happen ever
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
printerr
by Bronze Member on Dec. 27, 2010 at 8:14 AM

I work as a mental health case manager.  My SO has been out of the country so it's been just me taking care of our 2yo son the whole time, and I'm not sure how our routine will change once he returns early next year, but I'm thinking it won't change much since he doesn't drive and won't be able to work at first (he's not American and will need a work permit before he can work, and that won't happen until a few months after we're married).  Right now I get up around 6:30am and get my son up at 7:00.  We leave for the babysitter about 7:20.  After work I pick him up and head home (I stop at the store some days on the way).  I fix us dinner and pass the time until putting him to bed at 8:00pm.  Then I might wash dishes or something, relax, take my shower, whatever.  After my SO returns, he will watch our son some of the days until he can get a job, but I don't want to pull my son completely away from the babysitter for just those few (about 6) months and then have to have him start all over with her after a long absence.  I'd rather he still go to her house some days even when my SO is home to help out.  I'm hoping that my SO will do some cooking and cleaning when he gets here, but we've never lived together before, so I'm not sure yet how much he'll pitch in....

Gmgej
by Michele on Dec. 27, 2010 at 8:17 AM

Dh and I own our own business, we are busy and work long hours normally 7 days a week at times. It is tough. I was a SAHM for 12 years and I miss the ease of that the wonderful simplicity, of laundry, dishes, diapers ect.

Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)