Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Love & Marriage Love & Marriage

Is it Abuse? (A Resource Guide)

Posted by   + Show Post

Hi Ladies,

As a future Social Worker, I felt it would be good to have a post in the Love and Marriage group that has information about the different types of abuse - and yes, there is more than just physical abuse.  I have listed some links below, and I hope that everyone will add more resources and /or stories so that we can keep it on top as a primary resource.  Feel free to include resources and information about abuse within an adult relationship, child abuse/neglect, and elder abuse.  It's not a fun topic, but I think it's vital that we have these resources available!

Here are a few links to get us started:

http://www.loveisrespect.org/is-this-abuse/types-of-abuse

http://www.asafeplacenh.org/abuse_types.html (be sure to donload the brochure!)

http://suite101.com/article/different-types-of-abuse-in-love-relationships-a12723

http://www.helpguide.org/mental/child_abuse_physical_emotional_sexual_neglect.htm

http://alzheimers.about.com/od/advocates/a/6_types_abuse.htm

Here's a link to a post in the Babies group for more info about domestic violence: http://www.cafemom.com/group/babies/forums/read/17029403/Dv_info?last#last

by on Jan. 10, 2014 at 11:02 AM
Replies (81-90):
candy558
by on Jan. 15, 2014 at 4:25 PM

yes you are very right,but most of the support goes to females and no male .

aimesnyc
by Amy on Jan. 15, 2014 at 4:28 PM

That could also be because men are not as likely to report abuse.  But in regard to this post, it is directed toward women since this is a site primarily used by women.

Quoting candy558:

yes you are very right,but most of the support goes to females and no male .

jazi1105
by Jazi :) on Jan. 21, 2014 at 7:36 PM
great info
grambo91
by New Member on Jan. 25, 2014 at 8:20 AM