Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Love & Marriage Love & Marriage

Is it possible to get over an emotional affair..?

Posted by on Mar. 31, 2013 at 10:18 AM
  • 13 Replies

Hey All,

I'm new to cafemom, but am looking for some advice and guidance from you experienced ladies!  My husband and I have been married for almost three years now, and he was overseas for one of those years.  Shortly following his return home, we found out we were expecting!  What I wasn't expecting was the intense PPD, which affected him as well. 

When our girl was about 4 months old, my husband began to speak to girls at work outside of work (texting, FB email/IMing) and hide it from me.  When I saw the conversations on our phone bill, he would lie about it..then come clean, say he wouldn't do it again and then we would be okay for about a month.  Then it would happen again...He would get angry with me for being paranoid, controlling him etc.  I know he was stressed from the baby and working so much, but I was going through PPD and working full time, and parenting by myself a lot due to his job.  He would also work more so that he wouldn't be home with us as often, making my feelings of resentment so much worse.  He acted like I didn't contribute to the house financially..which is insane.