Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Love & Marriage Love & Marriage

He Proposed and 9 months later he says it was a mistake...

Posted by on Aug. 26, 2013 at 12:40 AM
  • 16 Replies

Oh boy, where do I start? To summarize, my s/o and I started dating in 2010 when my son was 2 years old. Our relationship is one of those things that just sort of happened. I wasn't looking, but one casual date turned into many and overnights and "I love you"...after 8 months of dating, I let him meet my son. After a year and a half we moved in together.

Our relationship has had its hurdles: work, trying to blend a family (although he has no children), some issues with my son's biological Dad, some control/alcohol issues (on his side) and some insecurity issues on both of our behalfs. He owns a very successful business and is very well off financially. I work in healthcare and while I don't make nearly as much as him and worked quadruple the hours, I loved my job. It became a source of tension for us; he wanted me home and I didn't want to quit my job. We hit a rough patch in 2012 and started going to counseling. Things improved little by little in our relationship. When my son started kindergarten in 2012, he began having severe behavioral problems. My s/o saw this as an opportunity to convince me to quit my job to be a stay at home mom and also to help him run his company. I finally agreed. In November of 2012, I quit my job. I found it hard to transition and faced a bit of depression.