Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I feel like he doesn't see this as a problem...

Posted by on Mar. 13, 2016 at 3:52 PM
  • 29 Replies
Dh has been working an extremely crappy job for 4 year. Pay isn't bed, but definately not the best. Especially for what they require. They basically label the employees on call, except, legally, they do now, so they do not have to pay on call wages. However, his schedule can change daily. I can tell you how many times they will call him and say "hey, we need you here in an hour. You don't have today off anymore". And if he doesn't go in, then he gets in trouble for "calling off" or being "late" or they have also been known for just firing people if they didn't like the person. And all he does is make cheese...

Anyways, I have been asking him to get a new job for 3+ years. His shifts can be 3 hours or 15 hours. He can work 2 days a week or 7 days a week. He can go in at 3 in the morning or 10 at night. His current "shift" is 4pm to 3am. Except sometimes they call him in early. Sometimes he gets there to find out they made it later. Sometimes he goes in and learns he's only working 3 hours. Other times he finds out he'll be there until 6am.

We cannot plan anything... ever. The kids get 2 hours a day with him, max, on days he works, because he sleeps all morning. And then 2 hours after he gets up, they need a nap. And then with his schedule being able to change any day, we can't go out an do anything before he goes into work, since they can call him in an hour before they want him there, and it takes 40 minutes to get there.

I'm fed up with the place. They just raised their starting wage, and since he wasn't making that yet, he got a raise up to that amount. So that makes it better... but the schedule/hours. The pay just isn't worth that frusteration to me.