Advertisement
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Frugalistas Frugalistas

Newbie with a question...

Posted by on May. 7, 2012 at 11:59 AM
  • 13 Replies

Hi everyone! I just joined this group today because we really need to save money. I am a SAHM of 3, ages 9, 4, and 2. My husband works as a restaurant manager to support us all, so we have learned to be pretty frugal in order to live comfortably. Here is my question...What things do you make from scratch? I am a beginner cook, and I would love to make things like bread, laundry soap, and cleaners from scratch to save money. What things have worked for you that are not overly complicated? What has saved you the most money?

by on May. 7, 2012 at 11:59 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
BlancosBows
by on May. 7, 2012 at 12:27 PM
1 mom liked this
Cleaner recipes

Air freshener
2 cups hot water
1/8 cup baking soda
1/2 cup lemon juice or a few drops of your favorite essential oils 

Put the backing soda and hot water into an empty, clean spray bottle. Put the lid on and shake until dissolved. Add a few drops of essential oils or 1/2 cup of lemon juice. If you use lemon juice, keep in the fridge. 

Carpet freshener
Box of baking soda
25 drops of essential oils.
Put in shaker (like empty Parmesan cheese container)
Shake on carpet, let sit at least 30 min & vacuum up

Mr. Clean magic eraser
Melamine foam
*Found on amazon for $0.50 a piece! 

Reusable dryer sheets
4 parts liquid fabric softener
10 parts hot water
Put several scrap fabric pieces in container w/ lid or new, unused dish sponges; pour liquid mixture over fabric strips & shake. Let sit 2 days. Squeeze out excess solution & throw in dryer w/ wet clothes. Put used strip back in liquid solution to reuse

Laundry detergent
1 bar bar soap - I used Aloe scented Ivory soap
1 cup washing soda - Arm & Hammer brand