Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Coupons vs bulk stores

Posted by on Feb. 1, 2013 at 9:15 AM
  • 14 Replies
Hi everyone! I am very new to coupons that kind if overwhelm me but I want to buy a few things that I can get from bulk stores but u saw this thing online that bulk stores aren't exactly cheaper.
What do you think? I'm making a trip tomorrow so any help would be great
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Feb. 1, 2013 at 9:15 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
lillucky8
by Jen on Feb. 1, 2013 at 9:23 AM
I buy some things at bjs, they take bjs coupons and manufacturer coupons on the same item, with those they are cheaper, and usually bigger. I only buy things im certain will be used.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
specialwingz
by Corey on Feb. 1, 2013 at 10:41 AM

Bulk stores are tricky.  A lot of people believe that bigger is cheaper.  Often, it's just not true.  You have to be aware of unit prices.  Compare those unit prices of the bulk items to the regular size products at your regular grocery store.  Not to mention, how to store the bulk in a way as to preserve its quality.

I have a Foodsaver vacuum sealer.  It's the best investment I've ever made in my kitchen.  This way, I can break down my bulk deals, vacuum seal and store.  But, I make sure I am really getting a bargain.  Otherwise, I buy more of things on sale at my grocer and then portion them out, vacuum seal and store.

kim8934
by Member on Feb. 1, 2013 at 10:50 AM

I agree, it depends what you buy.  We also have a vacuum sealer and a meat slicer.  Deli meat is about half the price, when on sale, and bought in bulk and then package up the portions.  Not only is it cheaper, it's a higher quality.

matreshka
by Valerie on Feb. 1, 2013 at 11:13 AM