Advertisement
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Frugalistas Frugalistas

Where to start?

Posted by on Jul. 16, 2013 at 1:14 AM
  • 16 Replies
I am new to the whole couponing thing. I am in desperate need of some help.Our biggest expense in this house is food. I am a single mom of 5 and I have 3 teenagers and 2 tweens. What is the easiest thing to stock up on as far as food is concerned? I would really love some ideas as to how I can make the food in this house go further or some home made recipes that I could do in place of store bought items.
by on Jul. 16, 2013 at 1:14 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
thefiregoddess
by Optimus Prime on Jul. 16, 2013 at 1:16 AM
1 mom liked this
Oh it depends on your stores and the seasons.

Thanksgiving is great for dry goods, canned and Turkey.
Winter is good for frozen and hba.

Spring is kind of a free for all, usually HBA and pre made meals and summer is the best for fresh anything.

Let me switch off mobile.

What stores do you have?
sweetbamabrown
by on Jul. 16, 2013 at 1:21 AM

We have Wal-mart, Aldi, Kroger, Publix, Save a Lot. We also have an Earth Fare but I can't afford that store. It is way too high.

polkaspots
by Member on Jul. 16, 2013 at 1:23 AM
1 mom liked this
If your kids are anything like I was, you should stock up on ingredients for things they can grab and eat at a moment's notice. Pancakes, waffles, oatmeal, smoothies, mini pizzas.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
thefiregoddess
by Optimus Prime on Jul. 16, 2013 at 1:32 AM
Do you know if your kroger or publix double?
Or if publix takes target as a competitor?
We have the same stores!:)
sweetbamabrown
by on Jul. 16, 2013 at 1:35 AM