Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Budgeting Advice?

Posted by on Jan. 16, 2014 at 2:31 PM
  • 10 Replies

Hi all! I am fairly new to cafemom and still learning to navigate the site. I am a mommy to three beautiful babies. Brody, 5, Kaydence, 2, and Grayson, 10 months. My husband works for the police dept. and I am a private duty nurse 3 days a week. I'm interested in hearing your stories on how you budget yourself and ways you keep yourself from wasteful spending!! 

Also, how do you come up with your budget? Is it a percentage of what your bring home? 

by on Jan. 16, 2014 at 2:31 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
by Bronze Member on Jan. 16, 2014 at 2:58 PM

Hi! I'm Alayna, I do pediatric private duty as a LPN. :)

First take your total take home pay and then start subtracting things with a set amount such as rent and car insurance. Then you can start subtracting variables like groceries and out to eat. I like to make a category for everything.

2,000 income

-500 rent

-50 car insurance

- 70 aflack

- 50 cell phone

and that leaves me with 1,330 for groceries, gas, out to eat, savings, clothes, etc.

by on Jan. 16, 2014 at 4:17 PM
1 mom liked this
Hi there and welcome!

I lay out our budget for every month. I write all of our expenses, our set monthly bills (rent, insurance, car payment, etc), and make a note as to what pay period will cover which amounts. I could make it easier with a spreadsheet, but I am definitely a pen and paper kind of girl. I then transfer a certain amount of $ to our savings, and then an amount for gas, groceries, and blow money. Thats it! (:
by on Jan. 16, 2014 at 5:07 PM