Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

help!!!

Posted by on Dec. 3, 2011 at 4:35 PM
  • 7 Replies

hey ladies ;)

i'm fairly new to cafe mom. My name is Niko and i am proud mother of two -new york city dreamer-  mary quite contrary- ++++. what brings me here today??? desesperation.  

my son is four years old, he was diagnosed with PDD @ age 3. for the last two years he has attended a special pre-school that has helped him substancially.Trust me... the things that's he learned and how he's progressed in such a short of amount of time has me @ a total loss for words... I'm tryuly grateful for his teacher's and all the people in his corner.   last friday, i attended my son's Parent Teacher Conference, there i found out this summer would be his last year there. I was happy to hear his Teacher's remarks, however i couldn't help but think about how hard it was to find a SUITABLE FULL Day program; and how difficult it was to get that program approved.  I got sooooo worked up about it, that on my way home i actually got off on the wrong exit and ended up in Paramus. (i don't live in New Jersey, I live in New York)

so this is where i'm at: 

i'm searching for an elementary school that has a smaller setting similar to the CABAS school that he's currently attending before it's tooo late and i have to settle for whatever the board of ed' deems adequate. (noooooooooooooo)

fact:  

• i had to advocate for my son's OT PT & ST
  • i also had to lobby for him to be placed in a Full Day program vs Half Day. 
  • i have google'd my bum of for the last 3 hours... i feel as though i'm slowly becoming insane. 
  • i don't really know what i'm doing, yes... i stalk my local library... but i need some help. 

sisters in arms, mothers for the cause...