Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Wt do i do when he trows a super tantram

Posted by on Jan. 15, 2012 at 9:47 PM
  • 9 Replies

ok we whint to  the fill market to day and everything was ok untill jojo heard a dog bark near him afthere that he started to cry and afthere that he wanted something and i did not get wat he wanted so he started to sricem so bad he even started to sake and jumping up and down i try to calm his down then i try to ingnor him but that just maed it worst everone around us where just seaking there head he keep it for 45 min what do i do in a situation like this

by on Jan. 15, 2012 at 9:47 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
lizvig
by on Jan. 15, 2012 at 10:15 PM

i am new to having a child with Autism.. it has been brought to my attention that my son who is 8 probabley is a high functioning autistic. i guess its called regressive autism.. and the women from emps have been trying to help me with coping skills.. such as.. Lowering my voice until he lower s his.. only give to options of what iexpect from him. and use words that reflect his feelings and my expectations. LIKE " I know your upset right now but, i would be happy if you calmed down.. It's either you calm down or we leave. and repeat the two options and not acknowledge if he says things like I want the toy or i want the ball. Its hard but when i use it and stick to it it does work.. but its aggravating. but im glad i finally will know whats going on with my son.. it took for me to have a nervous breakdown, my old doctor to die and her replacement doctor to be married to a nero physcologist for him to get tested.. good luck

nona2006
by on Jan. 15, 2012 at 10:28 PM

Quoting lizvig: