Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Autism - Support Across the Spectrum Autism - Support Across the Spectrum

Is it my fault that my son is autistic!?!

Posted by on Apr. 15, 2012 at 12:03 PM
  • 97 Replies
2 moms liked this

I am new to the world of autism and my son was only diagnosed march 6.  I know that we shouldn't try to assign blame but secretly I feel that there is something wrong with me and that my son is this way because of me.  It has me wondering if I am autistic as well.  The reason that I feel this way is because a lot of the behaviors that are common with autism I displayed at a young age.  I wouldn't look people in the eye or face, I was always hiding and staying by myself.  I have a very difficult time speaking to people and suffer from social anxiety a lot.  I have a hard time even understanding peoples behaviors and they never seem to get me either.  I know that right now we need to focus on getting my son help and we are but what if the reason that he is having problems is because I am the problem.  I wonder if anyone else has thought about this when their kids were diagnosed or am I just being weird again.

by on Apr. 15, 2012 at 12:03 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
marisab
by Gold Member on Apr. 15, 2012 at 12:12 PM
2 moms liked this

first of all welcome to the group  welcomenow i just want you to know

1. Do not blame anyone esp self/this wont help esp son
  2. there is a genetic connection my sons was heraditary  caused  so if it bugs u get tested.but dont blame self do it to know onlyt and see if there is anything you need help with only!!!
greenmommo
by on Apr. 15, 2012 at 12:39 PM
5 moms liked this
Hi & welcome. My name is Shelly and I have a daughter (DD) diagnosed with Aspergers several months back. After learning about it, like you, I realized I have Aspergers too.

You say, maybe