Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Autism - Support Across the Spectrum Autism - Support Across the Spectrum

in desperate need of help with my austistic son on how to get 24 hour protective service or other services?

Posted by on May. 3, 2012 at 1:17 PM
  • 16 Replies

hello im looking to talk to someone who has experience applying for 24 hour protective service though IHSS im new to the IHSS I'm a single mom with a 7 1/2 year old son whose autistic. Im working full time at the moment but i feel a little trouble at work because recently i had to go home early for my son because i couldnt afford to pay for afterschool program at the school bcuz it cost $50/wk my son is in need of 24 hr supervision my son is non verbal no regards to his safety (running through traffic,opening gas stove lighting anything he could find,climbing cabinets, hitting his head and body on the wall, wandering around the house most times would open the door and run outside. He doesnt respond to his name , doesnt understand stop, no (i used when he runs) knows and like to get knife on the kitchen cabinet and slicing any food he finds. on the shower room likes to play with shaving cream and shaver. Hate to admit but hes a handful i cant leave him for more than 5 minutes and need to constantly watch him at night because he wanders around at night. Being a single parent its really hard and i cant afford to loose my job because honestly we cant survive with his SSI which is $535/month only not even enough to pay for rent. Please help if anyone with experience in regards to applying for 24 hr through IHSS i need guidance....

by on May. 3, 2012 at 1:17 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Cafe AmyS
by Head Admin on May. 3, 2012 at 2:12 PM
1 mom liked this

Welcome to the group.  I hope you're able to find the services that you (and your son) need.

badgermom2012