Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Autism - Support Across the Spectrum Autism - Support Across the Spectrum

Getting dd #1 evaluated :(

Posted by on Jul. 16, 2012 at 12:30 AM
  • 5 Replies
Many of you know I have a son on the spectrum, officially diagnosed pdd-nos (I say aspie but I'm am following what the doc says)
Anyways him being on the spectrum has really made me start looking very closely at my dd's and I am really seeing a lot of red flags waving in my face with my 3 year old.
So smart she has basically self taught herself the alphabet through the use of iPad apps and the limited amount of time I spend working with her (I work full time)
But she gets inconsolable if something doesn't go her way, she is in her own world 99% of the time, she is obsessed with licking things, we can't get her to make a single step towards potty training and she won't SPEAK.
Not that she doesn't know how she just refuses to speak words about 80% of the time. And when she does speak I feel like she is just saying words every now and then she will have an idea of her own but outside these rare occasions she just says things like a parrot.

So, I have made the executive decision to speak to a doctor about this. I kept telling myself that I was just seeing signs because I have similar issues wih my son but it is slowly becoming apparent that it could very well NOT be all in my head. And since I've have had a NT child to compare the younger ones to, I kept saying its just her age, it's just her age.

I think it may not be her age anymore. I think maybe now I need to face reality. Everyone keep me in your prayers because I never thoug I would be the mother of one special needs child, let alone 2. I just hope I am strong enough to survive this.
by on Jul. 16, 2012 at 12:30 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-5):
Butterfly1209
by on Jul. 16, 2012 at 1:16 AM