Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Autism - Support Across the Spectrum Autism - Support Across the Spectrum

Do you use Social Stories? Visual Schedules?

Posted by on Oct. 18, 2012 at 11:48 PM
  • 11 Replies

Proactive parenting?

Does anybody know what I'm talking about?

I've been taking a workshop series called "raising your challenging child" and it has been LIFE CHANGING!

I also went to a social stories workshop provided by the school district. AWESOME.

I'm just learning about all these things. Wondering if any of you ladies have learned about this stuff too?

As a caveat though, I will say that my son probably doesn't have autism after all. Now I'm leaning more toward just ADHD but can't confirm without meds yet. Will keep you posted :)

by on Oct. 18, 2012 at 11:48 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
asmithberger
by on Oct. 18, 2012 at 11:57 PM
1 mom liked this

Good Luck. We are trying social stories about putting things in his mouth (sensory issues). He likes the stories and pictures.  And we do have a visual aide calendar. With the days and on each day we put a pictue of like my scrubs because mommy works and a stethascope for a drs appt. and a picture of school on the days he has therapy (its held at the school he will go to). things like that. It helps him know what is coming next!

jthompson1976
by on Oct. 19, 2012 at 12:30 AM
1 mom liked this

i havent heard about them. id love to hear more

emarin77
by Silver Member on Oct. 19, 2012 at 2:35 PM
1 mom liked this

I've been using visual schedules for myself since my son was born.  They keep me in schedule of each days meal, activities,etc.

asmithberger
by on Oct. 19, 2012 at 5:04 PM
2 moms liked this