Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single mom how can I?

Posted by on Dec. 18, 2012 at 10:37 PM
  • 15 Replies
My son is 4 years old but is developmentally about 2 he has violent tendencies he goes half days to early childhood and will be half days for the next 2 years for school. He can't go to day cares in my town because he has violent tendencies.

I am a college student about to graduate but how am I supposed to get a job when I don't have anyone to watch him? He throws violent fits when getting on the van for school and I have to handle that then usually he has a meltdown when transitioning to the home routine from school?

Any other single moms have tips for me?
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Dec. 18, 2012 at 10:37 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Jenn8604
by on Dec. 18, 2012 at 10:41 PM
1 mom liked this
Hugs! Have you tried first then?
Use pictures and put them on a bright color of paper. We have blue. First my ds does what i want. then he does his thing.
First you get dressed then you get ipad.
first you take a bath then you get a movie.
that's the kind of things i do w my son and it helps lessen meltdowns.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
sweet_pea_1116
by on Dec. 18, 2012 at 10:46 PM
We have tried first then the school has also tried it. They also have schedules they stick with and he has days he fallows then he has days where he wants to do what he wants.

His therapists are still trying to figure out why he has such a hard time with transitions. Also why some of his violent outbreaks are unprovoked.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
amonkeymom
by Amy on Dec. 19, 2012 at 4:53 PM

You might need to find a home day care situation where the caregiver can give him more attention than he'd get in a center.

VioletsMomTown
by on Dec. 19, 2012 at 8:34 PM
2 moms liked this