Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Autism - Support Across the Spectrum Autism - Support Across the Spectrum

Looking some advice

Posted by on Aug. 4, 2013 at 3:59 AM
  • 11 Replies

Hi everyone I'm a newbie hahaha

my daughter Katie almost 3 is in the process of assessment/diagnosis.

she doesn't speak much. Very little language and then just gobble de ghook, she bites herself when there are any children around. Children roughly the same age and younger, especially younger. She's an absolutely awful sleeper. Only eats about 5 foods. Won't get into a bath or have her hair washed or brushed.

Constantly hyper and on the go no idea of danger etc, closes her eyes and spines round and round in circles.

But absolutely beautiful, and melts my heart everyday. I also have another little who's six. Katie loves her big sister but has been known to bite her ha. 

Shes already started speech therapy, had her hearing checked. Now waiting on appointment for an ot and the date for the child development assessement. 

Is there anything I can do in the mean time.??? Thanks girls xxxx

by on Aug. 4, 2013 at 3:59 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
TheJerseyGirl
by Michele on Aug. 4, 2013 at 6:18 AM

Welcome!!

She sounds like my daughter in every way, who is NOT autistic! Haha! Mine is the reason I don't have 10 kids becuase she was always on the go and so rotten!! She's 16 now and still a PITA...lol.

My 12 year old son is autistic and a dream as far as behavior...So she may not be anything be a naughty toddler!

I think the best thing you can do for yourself and for her is to research...read up on autism and what the best help for her besides speech might be.

lucasmadre
by Kari on Aug. 4, 2013 at 7:30 AM