Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Autism - Support Across the Spectrum Autism - Support Across the Spectrum

Issue with Junior ABA Therapist. Am I expecting too much?

Posted by on Aug. 22, 2013 at 3:35 AM
  • 12 Replies

Hello moms,

I am new to CafeMom. I did a search and found that a lot of other moms have issues with their therapists too. I hope this doesn't sound redundant or just a rant. This is a long post, so you may skim through it if you want to.

Background:
I have a 2.5-year-old son who was diagnosed with autism. He's considered very high-functioning with few "autism characteristics." He started ABA (and speech) therapy in early July and has been progressing very well. The company providing for his ABA therapy was chosen by our local regional center (in California). The overall experience with this company has been ok with some minor hiccups. All in all, I'm just SO HAPPY that my son is progressing well and having fun (most of the time).

On his ABA team, he currently has 1 program supervisor, 1 behaviorist, 2 junior therapists, and 2 senior therapists. It has been 1.5 month and one therapist left and they added two senior therapists to the team.

Past Hiccups:
During the initial assessments, the program supervisor gave me inaccurate dates for the submission of the report. The report was eventually submitted two weeks later than what she told me.

Multiple consultation cancellations during therapy. The last time, she didn't even tell me. So it's still kind of ongoing.

Underscheduling. My son should be receiving 20 hours/week but there were four weeks that he didn't get all his hours. I only found out when there was one day one of his therapists didn't show up and I recalculated all the hours. They have made up all those missing hours in this week.

Current Issue (with Junior Therapist):