Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Posted by on Aug. 29, 2013 at 9:42 AM
  • 11 Replies
I literally want to tear all my hair out.My son who is now 7 was diagnosed with autisim& ADHD a month before he turned 6.Well over the summer there were some changes to our school district,causing this huge merger of the two school systems,the loss of good teachers& programs and now my son is being suspended every week for behavior issues.He doesn't mean to misbehave,he just has sensory issues and at some point if the day has had enough or needs a break and doesn't know how to express that.Im a single parent.I work& support my family,no support system whatsoever,so when he misses days of school I am forced to miss days of work.Im a hairstylist/nail tech, so when I miss work I don't get paid.Im missing payments on bills and I feel like this is gonna end badly with stuff being disconnected.Stuff like electricity!Im scared and don't have anyone to turn to.I need a support group of some sort.A suggestion on a special needs school for my son in the city where we live.And a few pillows to punch to vent my frustration.
by on Aug. 29, 2013 at 9:42 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
JTMOM422
by Brenda on Aug. 29, 2013 at 9:56 AM

Does you son have and IEP for school. If not get that done first. Also if he is having behavioral issues at school to I recommend talking to them about a BIP behavioral intervention plan. Do you recieve SSI for your son? If not I would look into that too. I would also recommend you talking to his therapist if he has one. If not I would look into getting him a behavioralist to help with the school issues Hope things get better momma and welcome to the group.

Charizma77
by Carissa on Aug. 29, 2013 at 12:16 PM

Welcome to the group!  Sounds very frustrating. You can definitely vent to us in this group. Hugs!

amonkeymom