Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Autism - Support Across the Spectrum Autism - Support Across the Spectrum

diets for autism

Posted by on Sep. 21, 2013 at 7:10 PM
  • 12 Replies

Hi all,

My awesome son is and "Aspie" he is in main-stream class at school, 5th grade he is 10 yrs. was diagn. when he was in 1st grade. We have him in GFCF diet for last 6 months, there was an improvement  at first but not much different now...Wonder if we should keep doing this and for how long?

by on Sep. 21, 2013 at 7:10 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
darbyakeep45
by Darby on Sep. 21, 2013 at 7:29 PM
1 mom liked this
Welcome to the group! I have no experience with the diets but wish you the best!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
MotoStar
by Member on Sep. 21, 2013 at 7:34 PM

Welcome to the group! I have an "Aspie" as well. I, however, do not have any experience with special diets. Hopefully, someone can help you out.

Domain of the Mad Mommy
(rambling about kids, cooking and life)

xanadu96
by on Sep. 21, 2013 at 8:54 PM
I was at an autism conference yesterday and they said if your child doesn't have gluten intolerance/doesn't have gut issues it doesn't really work. They said removing dyes and preservatives seems to work best.
mypbandj
by Jen on Sep. 21, 2013 at 9:37 PM
I don't have the follow thru to try but my friend does it with her son. They eat a totally organic, vegan, non gmo, dairy free, gluten free, preservative and dye free diet. And when she got pregnant and was too sick to keep it up, her sons therapists suddenly were like,
WHAT has changed at home because you kid is totally off the wall!!! So while he isn't 'perfect' on the diet, he is noticeably different.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Charizma77
by Carissa on Sep. 21, 2013 at 10:12 PM