Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Autism - Support Across the Spectrum Autism - Support Across the Spectrum

Chiropractor

Posted by on Dec. 17, 2013 at 9:06 PM
  • 11 Replies

Has anyone heard about chiropractor who helps ASD children? Can anyone share this information?

by on Dec. 17, 2013 at 9:06 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Charizma77
by Carissa on Dec. 17, 2013 at 9:32 PM

I have no experience with chiropractors. Sorry!

ineedcoffeemom
by Brittaney on Dec. 17, 2013 at 11:39 PM

I've read about it but no actual experience here, sorry. Hope someone on here can help.

mypbandj
by Jen on Dec. 17, 2013 at 11:51 PM
Is it supposed to help with symptoms?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
jennymoon4
by Member on Dec. 18, 2013 at 1:14 AM
My daughter saw a chiropractor a few times. He would adjust C1 (I think that was it) with a tool that just made a pop sound. Sorry I'm not more help, it was a few years ago...

Anyway, he was my chiropractor & he is very into alternative medicine. He knew my daughter had autism & mentioned maybe he could help. We tried & it was pretty good for her. Back then, she often had a glassy look to her eyes (she was 2). After the adjustment, she just seemed more clear. She had better eye contact - still minimal as she had almost none back then. Most noticeable was how relaxed she would become immediately after adjustment.

Unfortunately, the results wouldn't hold for much more than a day. We stopped going because once she was closer to 3, there was no way she'd lay on the doctor's table! It may be something we'll try again someday now that she's older. I'd like to wait until she communicates a bit better so that she can tell me whether it helps.
patnic
by Bronze Member on Dec. 18, 2013 at 6:18 AM