Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Autism - Support Across the Spectrum Autism - Support Across the Spectrum

Ever get tired of fighting???

Posted by on Apr. 25, 2014 at 3:03 PM
  • 20 Replies
I know that Nicolas is still actually in EI. And that so many of you are fighting your districts so hard. But I am new to this and don't know where to go from here.

I just got an email from Nicolas teacher. She said she had a preK meeting this morning. That they all agree (not sure who all she means) that the drive to the co taught preK would be a very long ride for him. And that the typical preK doesn't have any transportation if it's not your home school. (Which it's not!)

So, the observation is still on hold till they figure out what options will be available to him. And they still don't know what type of supports would be available to him in the typical preK. That we actually have till the end of the school year to get everything in, so they have time to figure it out.

I sent an email back telling her that unless there is a significant amount of support for him at the typical preK, that I don't think he will be successful. And then told her that I don't think the very long bus ride will be good to go to the co taught preK. Because he is starting to whine and asking me why can't I pick him up from school. I also asked if he could just stay where he is at now as an option. Every time I ask that, she doesn't answer it.

I'm already tired of trying to figure out what we are going to do.
by on Apr. 25, 2014 at 3:03 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
ineedcoffeemom
by Brittaney on Apr. 25, 2014 at 4:40 PM