Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Autism - Support Across the Spectrum Autism - Support Across the Spectrum

help!

Posted by on Apr. 29, 2014 at 1:07 PM
  • 8 Replies

hey ladies im new to this and wanted to branch out and get support in my way i know it will help me be a better mother to my son....im 23 years old i was first pregant at 20 had my son at 21 years old. so i guess you can say im a young mother. Never really know what to expect going into this thing called being a mother but i take everything that cames to me head on. my son will be two july 24th so hes 21 months now and i had notice he seem a little behind then every child his age so i had talk to his doc and we had do early intervestion meeting and they had tested him and he is vary behind hes at a 15 month od develpoment stage and are worried hes autistic....as a mom the hurt my heart please any other moms who can help me be a bEtter mother for my child  I WOULD LOVE TO DO THE BEST I CAN FOR HIM thank you <3

by on Apr. 29, 2014 at 1:07 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
Momof4AEMW
by Gold Member on Apr. 29, 2014 at 1:15 PM
1 mom liked this

Welcome to the group!  Developmental milestones alone being behind does not mean your child has ASD.  I recommend checking out autismspeaks.org for a list of ASD characteristics.  You can also take the MCHAT on that site that will evaluate red flags that you can then discuss with your child's doctor.  If you feel this may be something your son has after finding out a bit more, I would ask for a referral to a developmental pediatrician for testing.  If he has autism, there are plenty of therapies and interventions out there to assist, and the younger you start the better.  So you're at the perfect time.  Best of luck, and welcome to the group!

theresa26
by Member on Apr. 29, 2014 at 1:22 PM