Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Autism - Support Across the Spectrum Autism - Support Across the Spectrum

It's really hard sometimes...

Posted by on Jun. 21, 2014 at 10:09 PM
  • 9 Replies
A girl I graduated with lives a few houses down and has an NT boy about 6 months younger than Dylan (Dylan will be 4 in September). It was a really beautiful evening so lots of people were outside. I got so depressed watching her playing with her little boy and him playing back. I'm sitting in my driveway trying and trying to engage Dylan. It gets so very discouraging. I feel like he's slipping farther and farther away from me every day. He prefers to be on his own when we're home and it breaks my heart. I love him so much. I want so many things for him in life.
by on Jun. 21, 2014 at 10:09 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
Charizma77
by Carissa on Jun. 21, 2014 at 10:15 PM

I understand. I think many of us can totally relate to this post. I feel this way often. I feel it when I am playing with my typical kids, I feel it when I see my friends kids. I adore my son and I am so proud of him and love who he is growing in to but it still hits me when I see kids his age doing something that he doesn't do but it has also gone both ways for my son..he has things he can do that most typical kids can't.  He is 9 now but when he was younger it hit me really hard,  but I am learning. Big hugs! I get it. 

Momof4AEMW
by Gold Member on Jun. 21, 2014 at 10:35 PM

Sorry you felt that way.  Hugs!  Does he do ABA therapy at all?  I know quite a few families that saw such an increase in engagement by doing it.  Maybe that would help.  There is also a floortime play method that can be used as therapy or for parents to get in to their child's world a bit better.  May be worth a shot?

mypbandj
by Jen on Jun. 21, 2014 at 11:20 PM
Hugs momma. :(
Posted on CafeMom Mobile