Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

wow, that is strange!

Posted by on Jan. 6, 2015 at 5:20 PM
  • 6 Replies

So for a while now, Izzy complains about my cooking. (which to all we know is strange since I am actually a great cook! making most things from scratch!) She hates my pasta sauce, homemade mac n cheese, and a few other things.. she will eat it, because unless it's a sensory issue or a real distaste for something, the rule is you eat what is cooked... anyhow, tonight is baked macaroni and cheese. she did not see me make the cheese sauce.. she comes in the kitchen asking whats for dinner. I told her macaroni and cheese. ( I was draining the pasta while this is going on.) she looks in the pan on the stove at the homemade cheese sauce.. she says "mom, is this the sauce YOU make?" I thought about it for a second and told her no, it's a packaged cheese that I chose to warm up.. she was like oh ok! so now that we have eaten dinner (her without a single complaint!) Im like, wait a minute here.. thinking back to a lasagna I made a few weeks ago (and again said it was jarred sauce, though it was hommade) she loved that too!! she for whatever reason has an adversion to HOMEMADE food! but ONLY when she KNOWS it's hommade!!!!! I dont feed her processed foods often (like velveeta etc) so Im not sure why she would "only like that" lol... so, basically as long as she thinks its processed will she admit to liking it hahah..

by on Jan. 6, 2015 at 5:20 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
ineedcoffeemom
by Brittaney on Jan. 6, 2015 at 5:52 PM

I know many kids this way. It's like because it comes out of a package it's magical and therefore has to be better. Even if homemade tastes so much better. My daughter will no longer eat cookies I bake from scratch for her, but she eats the heck out of the packaged cookies my mom buys her.