Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Getting a GSD

Posted by on Mar. 2, 2011 at 3:02 PM
  • 17 Replies
  • 448 Total Views

Hello!

I am a newbie here, and a newbie to the world of GSDs! My Fiance grew up with a West German Show Line Sch female. And since we moved in together back in May we have been looking to get a dog and seeing as how Lepcian (his dog that he grew up with) was the best dog he ever had and was a great companion for him growing up. That is the kind of dog we decided on for my son (3 yrs old) to grow up with. So then the search began. We have decided on this breeder http://vtds-gsds.com/ and we are going this weekend to meet the puppies! I am excited. We decided that we are going to get a female, because females are more protective of children and as a general rule, usually more tolerant of children.  We are looking at a puppy from either litter E or F. But the price difference is $1000 between the two! Because both of the parents of litter F have SchH (dad is SchH3, mom is SchH1)  , but only one parent of litter E is a SchH1.

by on Mar. 2, 2011 at 3:02 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
NancSBRN
by Bronze Member on Mar. 2, 2011 at 7:53 PM

Do you understand what these titles mean?  Working dogs need jobs and the notion that females are more protective over children is nosense I raise them and the male are very loving and the best baby sitters I had was a male :)

Females are often more busy then the males and often harder dogs.My females are much more demanding then the boys are.

Their dogs look ok more Angulated then I like but then I have the Eurpopean working lines not the show lines. If you looking for a show dogs those would probably do ok in  a ring.

Just some thoughts if you have other questions I would be happy to try to answer them I have been a German Shepherd lover for more then 20 years.

Nanc

NancSBRN