Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Craft Cafe Craft Cafe

Monster High and DIY dollhouse project.

Posted by on Nov. 30, 2011 at 7:47 AM
  • 35 Replies
1 mom liked this

Hi everyone, I'm new to the group and wanted to share with you a project my daughter and I are working on. It's almost complete and I am figuring out how to post a photo album for it. I am a jewellery artist by trade and my hobby is dollhouse minitatures for 1:12 scale houses.

My daughter, LM, turned 8 in Oct and LOVES Monster High. She has a Kidcraft wood dollhouse I bought for her 4 years ago (which I dismantled and shipped 2000 miles when we moved). During a chat a month ago about her dolls, she asked we could redecorate her dollhouse with a Monster High theme, and so began the project.

This brought back so many wonderful memories of my eighth Xmas when I received a 3 story dollhouse made by my grandfather and decorated by my mother and grandmother. What I remember most is that for many years after, my mother would reminisce fondly about how much fun she and her mother had decorating the dollhouse together. I was excited about this project with LM and wanted us to work on it together.

I took apart the house and sprayed all the pieces black as a canvas to work with. Then I painted stonework on the outside with acrylic paint and sealed it with Krylon clear coat. Luckily we picked a great time of year and I scored a ton of great stuff in the Michael's Halloween cleance bins, like stickers, scrapbooking embellishments, and trim.  Joann's, Michael's and A.C. Moore had great selections of duct tape and felt sheets for flooring and wall covers. I repainted her furniture and found odds and ends to use for decorations. It's finally back together and almost complete (just installing the skull chandelier).