Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Craft Cafe Craft Cafe

I'm attempting to sew tonight...

Posted by on May. 2, 2012 at 2:35 AM
  • 14 Replies

I have to sew a bunch of dresses in three weeks for my wedding (including MY dress) and I don't have a sewing machine and I have little experience sewing. I have two people who have agreed to help me, but they're both really busy and are experienced sewers. I found this pattern and tutorial for an infinity dress and I've tried to explain that the dress is very simple, so it's not like each dress takes 16 hours to sew. Each dress should take 2-4 hours to sew depending on who works on it. So I'm going to bite the bullet and make one of them on my own by hand just to show them that I'm not crazy. I ordered lavender and white fabric, so I'm going to try my hand at this dress on the lavender one first. Hopefully after I craft this one I'll get help from someone with a machine on the white one! Please wish me luck! Here's the tutorial: sewlikemymom.com/little-red-infinity-dress-tutorial/

by on May. 2, 2012 at 2:35 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
usmc.momma
by on May. 2, 2012 at 2:37 AM
By hand?!? In 2-4 hours?!? Good luck with that lol
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
melliburger
by Melli on May. 2, 2012 at 2:37 AM

Wow! Good luck!!!!

lalaboosh
by on May. 2, 2012 at 3:33 AM

No, that's the machine sewing time. I'm hoping to get it all cut out tonight and sew at least half of it tomorrow. If I can do it by hand with my limited experience in less than two days they might stop thinking they're making a wedding gown for me. Cuz a GOWN is WORK!

Quoting usmc.momma:

By hand?!? In 2-4 hours?!? Good luck with that lol

lalaboosh
by on May. 2, 2012 at 4:37 AM