Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Craft Cafe Craft Cafe

Hey, I love looking at and doing crafts!
I used to own a sewing machine but it broke due to my roommates dog. I really been missing it! I am a beginner and don't know much but the basics and I always have great ideas of things to do but no sewing machine.....does anyone know where a good place would be to get one from? I want something cheap since I am still new to it but that will last and can do a bit of things.

CafeMom Tickers
by on Oct. 9, 2012 at 12:55 AM
Replies (11-15):
The_Monster_Mom
by Emerald Member on Oct. 9, 2012 at 10:14 AM

Ask them to let you plug it in first. Definitely make sure the cord, feet to hold fabric down, bobbin cage, and power cords are included. If it doesn't have a manual with it but you have a smart phone you can usually google the machine type and see what it should come with in order for it to function

Quoting rayroe2:

Thank you, and how would you know if it is working, if from a thrift shop?

Quoting melliburger:

Thrift stores. Welcome to the group!

deeredone2
by Deedra on Oct. 9, 2012 at 11:23 AM

Welcome!  You can get a good cheap one from Walmart and sometimes Joanns have them on sale.  I got my DD a singer on sale for $50 last year at Target black friday. 

back40mama
by on Oct. 9, 2012 at 12:01 PM

Welcome!

shilohkitten
by on Oct. 9, 2012 at 2:21 PM

I got mine on Black Friday too - it was the special Black Friday machine, I bought it for $69 at Target on that day.  

Lucky for me even though I didn't get there til late in the day they still had quite a few of them left!  I believe you can also buy them from the store websites for the Black Friday discount price as well.

If I were you, with Black Friday being so close, I'd skip a thrift shop and buy a brand new machine on Black Friday.

Quoting nebcutie:

We got ours at walmart black friday for $50.

nebcutie