Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I turned a craft hobby into a business!

Posted by   + Show Post

This isn't an ad, just my story:)

A few months ago I started thinking about making candles with bracelet charms hidden in them. I didn't tell many people about it because I wasn't sure if I wanted to take the ultimate leap. I'm a full time graduate student with a job, a 3 year old, and a husband. I would dream about my candles and it's all I could talk about to my husband. He finally got sick of my wishing/hoping/dreaming and told me to go for it.

Now I have a trademarked, licensed business. I work and go to school and don't go to bed until 3-4am. I'm exhausted, happy, and we're doing pretty well, having recently sold our 1000th candle!

I won't post the business page here because again, this isn't an ad. Just my brief story behind the launch of Tiny Trinket Candles. If you have a dream of any kind you should go for it!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Dec. 30, 2012 at 2:09 AM
Replies (41-50):
abstractmommy
by Member on Jan. 1, 2013 at 12:59 AM
Hey you ;)

Quoting .shank.:

That's where you've been! Congrats :)
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
abstractmommy
by Member on Jan. 1, 2013 at 1:00 AM
I got my start through a facebook group full of ladies who love candles and talking about them, it snowballed from there! It's a good free place to start, do a facebook search for groups that like the products she makes/sells.

Quoting Breviewed:

How do you market your business?  I'm trying to help my daughter promote her designs.

Posted on CafeMom Mobile
abstractmommy
by Member on Jan. 1, 2013 at 1:05 AM
We make them in batches, and up until recently they've all been hand decorated by me! Now that's still an option but it slows doen production time. If customers want the candles faster they can choose a simple label instead.