Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Okay new to all of this...

Posted by on Jan. 14, 2013 at 1:33 PM
  • 12 Replies
1 mom liked this

Okay I am new to all of this.  I got the idea this morning after going to Monday morning bible study to take up crocheting.  All the ladies knit and make prayer shawls which I think is cool and I will eventually get to that and helping others and all that but I figure I will try crocheting first.  My first thing I want to make is a hat for dd and a new blanket for her since she is going to be 4 years old so we can get rid of the old night night and an afghan for my dad.  I am so nervous.  After I get these two things done I will get making those prayer shawls I hope...Just really scared about not doing this right, etc....

by on Jan. 14, 2013 at 1:33 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
lalasmama2007
by on Jan. 14, 2013 at 1:36 PM

Check youtube for tutorials to help you get started.  Good luck!  

Brieshon
by Silver Member on Jan. 14, 2013 at 2:07 PM
Good luck! I recommend starting with small square projects (washcloths, etc) to practice counting stitches and getting your tension even.

YouTube is a great place to start, and once you start reading patterns you can find a TON on ravelry.com! :)
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
mama_girl07
by Silver Member on Jan. 14, 2013 at 2:25 PM

What brieshon said ^^^

I tried starting with hats and it was hard.

MissElissa21
by on Jan. 14, 2013 at 3:11 PM

I learned on youtube, and yes, small squares and even round coasters are the best to learn on and then hats are pretty easy to pick up once you have mastered the basic stitches. You really need to have your tension figured out before attempting a blanket! I am sure you will get it! 

superwoman8977
by on Jan. 14, 2013 at 3:31 PM

I am so stupid I  cant even make a chain..so frustrated and I want to do this so badly :( :(