Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Craft Cafe Craft Cafe

sorry if these are stupid questions, but i'm new to crafting!

Posted by on Apr. 14, 2013 at 11:57 PM
  • 14 Replies

so i'm trying to make these onesies for my daughter with iron-oned appliques.  i also want to attach a bow to at least one of them.  i'm having some issues though, and maybe you ladies can help.

i hot glued a bow on to one and it worked great... until i washed it.  i wash everything in cold water and i hung the outfit to dry but still the bow fell off.  any suggestions of what i can use to get the bow to stay on?

i applied the appliques per the package instructions but one has already fallen off, and a couple of the others are coming up on edges.  i am terrible at sewing and my machine is pretty crappy.  any other suggestions for how i can get the appliques to stick better/longer?

thanks ladies i appreciate any advice you can give!

all onesies:

photo all-onesies_zpscddd96fa.jpg

onesie with bow:

photo pirates-dont-have-bedtimes_zps483c97f9.jpg

by on Apr. 14, 2013 at 11:57 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
CrimsonRadiance
by on Apr. 15, 2013 at 12:01 AM

You could use a small hand stitch to keep the bow on. Hand stitching isn't isn't too hard. Are the appliques the kind that you sew on? 

keyawin
by on Apr. 15, 2013 at 12:04 AM

I would hand stitch the bow on. Also even if the appliqu├ęs are iron, maybe hand stitch a few spots around the edge. It is really easy to do

tigerstripes12
by on Apr. 15, 2013 at 12:41 AM

the appliques are iron-on but can be stiched.  i can give it a shot but i'm really inept with a needle!  that's why i was hoping there was some type of like super heavy duty fabric glue lol

MyIslandGirls
by Bronze Member on Apr. 15, 2013 at 5:54 AM

With the iron ons... did you iron on from the front of the applique or the back?