Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Craft Cafe Craft Cafe

All over the place?

Posted by on Jun. 26, 2013 at 6:38 PM
  • 8 Replies
1 mom liked this

Hi ladies! I haven't been around in this group lately as I got busy with finishing up school. I graduated in May and not only have I been unable to find a job in my field, but I also found out I am pregnant. So I have started toying with the idea of selling my crafts again.

I was just wondering what your opinions are- is it better to stick to one niche or do multiple things? I have a large range of things that I make.

I sew children's and women's clothing, I hand embroider bibs, I make hair bows, I make Barbie clothes and have started working on Barbie furniture, I make home decorations, and I would love to get into jewelry making. Is that too all over the place? I just get bored doing the same things over and over again.

by on Jun. 26, 2013 at 6:38 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
mybratsmom
by Bronze Member on Jun. 26, 2013 at 8:14 PM

What if youi started a shop and then started to narrow it down with what sells best?  I make cards, vinyl creations, chunky necklaces, and metal stamping.  I'm finding that my metal stamping does best locally but that my vinyl creations do okay online.

jridgill
by Jennifer on Jun. 26, 2013 at 10:06 PM
I would offer what you are good at and sells the most. I can make tons of things but I have found that most I don't enjoy doing so if I do them I will only make as gifts or my kids. I'm up for anything once! LOL

Good luck and congrats!!
melliburger
by Melli on Jun. 26, 2013 at 11:52 PM

I would sell the things you are best at making, have the most experinece in, and also will not get burned out on quickly. There are a lot of things to consider so good luck on it! and congrats on your pregnancy! and for graduating! Where did you graduate from?

gina6239