Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Kids' Sports & Activities Kids' Sports & Activities

Becoming a wrestling mom

Posted by on Nov. 9, 2012 at 8:43 AM
  • 13 Replies

So this is my first year as a wrestling mom and tomorrow is my DS1 first wrestling dual (I am still unsure what the difference between a dual and a tournament is).  DS1 is 8 years old and has previously taken Brazilian Jiu Jitsu.  No idea how he will do as a wrestler though.  So far he really seems to enjoy it but I still have to close my eyes when I watch him grapple!  Seeing my DS thrown around like a rag and keep coming back for more is hard to get used to!

embarrassed

Any other wrestling moms here?  Words of advice for tomorrow?  How do you keep little ones occupied at all day events?

by on Nov. 9, 2012 at 8:43 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
louannwilkins
by on Nov. 9, 2012 at 11:17 AM

LOL  I'd probably have to close my eyes too!!!  lol  Be sure to let us know how it goes.  Hang in there.   :)

TigerofMu
by on Nov. 9, 2012 at 12:22 PM

Dual is two teams facing off.  Tournament involves brackets and multiple teams.  Take a bag of things for them to do and lots of snacks.  Wrestlers won't eat much before weigh in, but are usually hungry throughout the day.  A dual shouldn't be too long though, just a pair of wrestlers (one from each team) at each weight class...well, that's how it is in high school and junior high wrestling.  League type wrestling might be a little different so they can give more kids the opportunity to participate, so I'm not totally sure.

RobynS
by on Nov. 9, 2012 at 2:27 PM

I kept score for my high school wrestling team for three years and LOVED it!!! But as a mom... I'm not sure I could handle watching DS wrestle. He's too young at the moment, and I don't think he'll want to when he's older, but we'll see. Good luck!!

mumsy2three