Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Winter Promise for Preschool/Pre-K?

Posted by on May. 24, 2011 at 8:25 PM
  • 4 Replies

I have been looking and looking at curriculum and posting on other boards incessantly, lol.... My kids will be just turned 3 and just turned 4 when I start HS-ing in September.... well, not start since I have been doing it all along, of course... but you know what I mean.

Anyway, I was SURE I was going with Sonlight... but the more I delved in, the less I liked it. I like Horizons but since one of my reasons for HS-ing is more a relaxed learning program, that doesn't seem to fit.

I am really impressed with what I read about Winter Promise. I have seen mixed reviews however, although only a couple apply to Preschool/Pre-K...

I know I will work into building my own curriculum in later years but since I am new to this, I really want a strong guide this first year.... I like WP because it is unit studies, CM method, and has a strong literature base without the confines of textbooks.

I would be doing the "I'm Ready to Learn" along with the Pre-K/K phonics program and easing my 4 year old into Horizons Math K a few months in since he can already add and subract up to 10....

by on May. 24, 2011 at 8:25 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-4):
peanut06
by on May. 24, 2011 at 9:19 PM

I'm considering WP for a few of my kids' years because I love the unit study/CM style.  It seems pricey, but there are also more expensive lit-based options, too.  To cut the $, I'm probably going to use one unit with both kids together, even though they're 2 years apart.  I have a few years, so who knows?  I do love the activities in some of the older histories (Adventures in the Sea and Sky) and forensics for high school--how cool would that look on the transcript!

StefInIdaho
by on May. 24, 2011 at 10:12 PM