Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I'm new to this...

Posted by on Jun. 30, 2011 at 10:16 AM
  • 11 Replies

HI I'm susan and I'm the mom to a 2 and 3 yr old (almost 4). I would like to teach the preschool at home but do not know where to start? Where can I get a curriculum that isnt too exensive? WHat advice do you have for me? THanks in advance!

by on Jun. 30, 2011 at 10:16 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
MedicMommy
by on Jun. 30, 2011 at 10:59 AM

Learn through play! That's really the only "curriculum" you need.

Wyatt learned a lot of phonics watching SuperWhy and playing on www.starfall.net

oredeb
by debbie on Jun. 30, 2011 at 11:40 AM

welcome susan!!!

as medic mom suggested  by playing is a great way to learn at this age. running jumping dancing singing playing thats what i did with my kids! we started with art stuff, scribbliing on large paper(didnt have to stay in lines), painting on large paper, chalk on a board, letters and number on the frig, i read to them a lot, taught them songs, nature hikes to the back pasture, we looked at bugs, music- bring in some simple music insturments you can make, kept some in jars, talked about them, cooked, etc! just those everyday things you do will get you going!

you can point out different colors to them, but just remember its ok if they dont remember! they will get it eventually!

Susan0805
by on Jun. 30, 2011 at 5:15 PM

Thanks ladies, I guess preschool isnt that demanding, I just want to get a heads up on their learning. Thanks for the suggestions.

JoyfulMommyof2
by on Jul. 1, 2011 at 1:39 PM