Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Seeking tips for toddler-K reading

Posted by on Jul. 5, 2011 at 11:31 PM
  • 8 Replies

I believe my children's reading skills are coming along nicely, but I'd like to know how some of you have achieved success with your own children in this area. I have no prior experience with beginning readers and I'm doing everything based on my own research. Any suggestions to help us along would be delightful. The experience that belongs to you Ladies is priceless, thanks!

by on Jul. 5, 2011 at 11:31 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
frstldyhmsch
by on Jul. 5, 2011 at 11:54 PM

My children have learned well from my system! I created flash cards fo each letter and on the back of the card, there is a word to mimic the beginning sound as well as other sounds it may make ie. a (on front) & the word "apple" /a/ (on the back. I use repetition and we say " A, /a/, apple"...we do this for each letter. I use index cards cut in half vertically so that its easy to create words using the cards....example...we take one vowel & one ending sound per day (for beginners) so we may use "a" for the vowel and the ending sound "d"...now we have "ad" and we swap out the beginning letters (cards) to create new words (even nonsense words). Once that is perfected then make blend flash cards to go along with your other cards and make even bigger words (also at this higher level you can add the different sounds of certain letters on the back of cards (like long and short sounds...."c" can also make the "s" sound ect.). we love using this method....if you want more info just let me know! I'll be happy to help....by the way my daughter began reading at 3 yrs old with this method! (and it was on accident! I was teaching my son and she just caught on lol)

timon95
by on Jul. 6, 2011 at 12:00 AM