Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

What kind of playdates have you hosted/attended?

Posted by on Jul. 25, 2011 at 12:35 AM
  • 12 Replies

I'm not experienced in the world of playdates. I was wondering what to expect at such events and how to be creative and fun while hosting one. I've got some good ideas and I was wondering what some of your experiences have been. What's the funnest playdate you and yours have been to?

by on Jul. 25, 2011 at 12:35 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
AllThatBabyJazz
by Bronze Member on Jul. 25, 2011 at 1:33 AM

Never done one. I need to branch out and try it though, I know my kids would love it. 

TroyboysMom
by on Jul. 25, 2011 at 5:25 AM

I've hosted regular just play, play-dates, bubble science playdates, Chinese New Year playdates (the kids made and ate Chinese food and then created their own paper lanterns), Nature study playdates, arts and crafts playdates...we always have fun, so I'm not sure what the best one actually was.

oredeb
by on Jul. 25, 2011 at 11:15 AM

never planned or been to one

AbundanceMagnet
by on Jul. 25, 2011 at 9:11 PM

Oh wow..I love this stuff!!!! I used to run a moms group, then a homeschooling group, now I'm just a member of one. 

There are so many things you can do.  You can just meet at the park or meet for field trips or just schedule one at your house.  Have everyone bring a dish, hang out, the kids usually do well entertaining each other and moms are actually are able to sit and chat!  if the weather permits, I always chose outside stuff to avoid the mess inside.  LOL   Are you considering starting a group?  Joining one???  :) 

MommaChell
by on Jul. 27, 2011 at 3:02 PM

Quoting AbundanceMagnet:

Oh wow..I love this stuff!!!! I used to run a moms group, then a homeschooling group, now I'm just a member of one.