Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Home economics

Posted by on Aug. 23, 2011 at 12:49 PM
  • 7 Replies
Hey everybody! This is my first time posting. I need some advice on how to develop a home economics curriculum for my 9th grade daughter. She already crochets, and of course she has her daily household chores, but I'm wondering if I should try to something more structured with her. There's part of me that thinks it's silly to buy a textbook to teach my daughter to take care of a home and family, but I want to make sure that I can list home ec as an elective on her transcript. What do y'all think?

Thanks bunches!

by on Aug. 23, 2011 at 12:49 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
mem82
by Platinum Member on Aug. 23, 2011 at 2:27 PM

Hmmm, It does seem silly to buy a text book for Home Ec.  If I were you, I would go to Fly Lady. com and get her house cleaning schedule and tips. Then I would go to Dave Ramsey's website and print out his budget sheets and tips. I would put together something from that. She'd learn how to clean a house, quickly and efficiently, write and keep a budget and maybe you could throw some meal planning and shopping on top of it all and call it good. Home Ec in high school only lasts a semester so it's not like you need something that has to go on for a year. Have fun!

armygirl16
by on Aug. 23, 2011 at 9:50 PM
good question. I agree with pp about dave ramseys budget worksheets and such.
I think for my daughter I'll have her take a sewing class at joannes or sewing shop, along with regular "teaching how to run a household" type lessons.
Can she cook well?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Boobah
by Nikki :) on Aug. 24, 2011 at 7:54 AM