Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

High schooler wants to graduate early...help!

Posted by on Aug. 31, 2011 at 3:09 PM
  • 5 Replies

My daughter skipped 7th grade last year, and went on to 8th.  She didn't have any problems, so we started her freshman year this month (yipes!).  Anyhoo, she wants to graduate as quickly as possible.  She wants to, in her words, "get on with life"!  I have no problem with early graduation.  I graduated HS at 16, and didn't have any problems.  It actually turned out to be a good thing for me. I worked some part time jobs, and did some volunteer work, which really helped me choose a degree program when I went to college a couple of years later.  Sooo...I guess my real question is this:  HOW DO I DO IT??    How will she be able to finish her HS credits early?  Our state requirements are 180 days a year, with 150 hours per subject to receive one credit.  As it is, if I divide her curriculum into 180 days, she will be bored out of her mind!  I have no doubt that if I let her work completely on her own pace, she could finish her 9th grade curriculum in less than 6 months.  Would I be able to count it as a full credit?  I'm so confused.shrugging  Advice??

Mom of Laura-my 13 going on 30 angel, and 10 year old Nathan, the happiest kid in the world who happens to have Asperger's.

by on Aug. 31, 2011 at 3:09 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-5):
usmom3
by BJ on Aug. 31, 2011 at 3:29 PM