Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

needing some help please!

Posted by on Oct. 22, 2011 at 11:50 AM
  • 13 Replies
Ok so Im new to cm and Im also kinda new to home schooling. I've done a set curriculum for two years. We did Abeka, but in April we lost our home in an EF4 tornado that took our home and everything in it. We are just as of last week getting a home so we haven't had the chance (or money) to replace the Abeka but i saw a post on here about unschooling and "homemade" curriculums. So i was wondering if someone would be willing to explain these and maybe even help me figure out things for us to use. I have a 12 yr old son a 9 yr old daughter a 4 yr old daughter and a 16 mth daughter. i would love any help and advice and wisdom i can get. Oh i live in a very small town where no one home schools and thinks Im crazy for doing it! So there is no support here really thanks in advance for any help advice or just encouragement.
by on Oct. 22, 2011 at 11:50 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mem82
by Platinum Member on Oct. 22, 2011 at 12:07 PM

I'm sorry about your home. I use the internet's free or  cheap websites to build my own worksheets/books. I also use the library and their resources to teach the kids. Youtube has a wonderful selection of videos on every topic. I use the grade standards to figure out what my kids need to learn every year and I take it from there. I homeschool 2 kids for about $100 a year. My younger two aren't old enough for school, yet.

butterfly12981
by on Oct. 22, 2011 at 12:28 PM