Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Unschooling vs. Homeschooling...any difference?

Posted by on Nov. 20, 2011 at 11:38 AM
  • 10 Replies

So, I'm new to this particular board but not to the whole homeschooling/unschooling thing.

I mostly unschooled my middle child because of bullying and I needed to pull him out of school because the stupid school system did NOTHING to help him through it or to put a stop to it. So he's been unschooled for almost 2 and 1/2 years.  Oh he's 14 by the way and he seems to learn so much more and faster when he's learning this route rather than the district system.  Does that even make sense??

I also homeschool my 11 year old son for a very different reason.  He's basically homebound because of Chronic Daily Headaches with Migraine Tendancies.  He has a hard time being outside when it's sunny out (though I STRONLY encourage him to go out), the lights in school cause him problems. He seems to be learning much better when I teach him when he's comfortable (usually at night...)

I homeschool/unschool my children not because I can, but because it's out of necessity at this point.  My STBX is having issues with me homeschooling the boys, because in his eyes "I don't have the qualifications to do so and they need the structure of school".

So I guess I have 2 concerns that maybe someone can shed a light on for me:

1.  What exactly is the difference between homeschooling and unschooling and is it possible to do both?

2. And why do people constantly tell me that I'm not "qualified" to teach MY boys English, writing, math, science and so on?  I mean, I taught them how to tie their shoes, get dressed, ride a bike and so on.  Are these people trying to make me feel bad or is it that they don't have the patience to do it themselves?

alright, maybe that was more than 2 concerns....lol

Thanks a bunch

by on Nov. 20, 2011 at 11:38 AM