Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Finding a co-op

Posted by on Dec. 21, 2011 at 9:32 AM
  • 11 Replies

I am new to the homeschool mania, and I am working on getting everything lined up next year.  The question that I am having is that I have been looking for a co-op group, to keep my boys active with other kids.  How did you find a co-op?  I could really use some help.

by on Dec. 21, 2011 at 9:32 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
oredeb
by on Dec. 21, 2011 at 10:35 AM

we started our own, but type in your town and state in the google search and homeschool co op and see what somes up??

usmom3
by BJ on Dec. 21, 2011 at 10:40 AM

Try looking on Yahoo Groups for your State, Goggle+ Groups for your state, Meetups for your state. Also for stuff to do with your kids for classes or field trips, see what activities are offered by the public library, the local community center, museums & zoos around you too!

KickButtMama
by Shannon on Dec. 21, 2011 at 11:04 AM

Quoting usmom3:

Try looking on Yahoo Groups for your State, Goggle+ Groups for your state, Meetups for your state. Also for stuff to do with your kids for classes or field trips, see what activities are offered by the public library, the local community center, museums & zoos around you too!

I agree. I actually found our 2 coops through a homeschooling discussion board on Yahoo. The board is for all homeschoolers in our state. I had thought there were very few HS'ers in our area but after being on the group I found 2 coops within 5 miles of our home, in fact we walk to one of them! GL!

You can also check at your local library & community ctr.

mem82
by Platinum Member on Dec. 21, 2011 at 12:02 PM

Make sure to ask any homeschooler you meet if they know of one. 8)

oredeb
by on Dec. 22, 2011 at 6:50 PM

hows the coop search going?

SpiritedDragon