Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

new and need advice/ideas

Posted by on Jan. 3, 2012 at 9:54 AM
  • 4 Replies
hi all im new at this so bare with me:-) my oldest is 6 and is in school but is struggling ALOT. he was born preemie so i think that has alot to do with it. But the school is doing nothing to help him except complaining to me about it. So im wondering how and what i can do after school to help catch him up. Would love to homeschool him but hubby wont let me. Also have a 2yr old (be 3 in april) son at home that i want to start homeschooling so i would love to have ideas on that. I feel like if i can prove to my dh that i can school our younger one he'll let me take the older one out of school and teach him at home too. Thank u all so much:-)
by on Jan. 3, 2012 at 9:54 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-4):
mem82
by Platinum Member on Jan. 3, 2012 at 11:09 AM

Welcome! For the three year old, I suggest Googling letter of the day curriculum and circle time activities.

What is your six year struggling with the most? I want to be able to give a more focused response. 8)

usmom3
by BJ on Jan. 3, 2012 at 11:11 AM

Welcome to the group! The only bad thing about trying to homeschool a child that is atending a school all ready is that child comes home burned out from learning & school. You are going to have to make it fun or it isn't going to work! For the younger one it should all be about fun & play at his age. So maybe what you can do is get some board games to play with both of them or make up games with what you have at home. A game my younger kids love to play is store, they get out toys that they want to sell to each other & use play money to buy & sell the toys. In that game they are doing math & learning about money & budgeting, also some time supply & demand.

Danielle163