Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

foreign languages in early homeschooling

Posted by on Jan. 23, 2012 at 5:51 AM
  • 18 Replies

Okay, my son is only two but I have several acquaintances from different cultures and their kids are already bi-lingual. I have studied three languages but am not very good at any of them anymore and I don't have enough time to spend on them to get proficient to speak them properly.

I read more and more that kids need to learn early.  I would like to do something with my son but still want to homeschool. Should I teach him what I remember of the languages? Most of it is just vocabulary now, I have forgotten a lot of the grammar. So I don't know how much good I could do. I have some conversational tapes in one of the languages I studied but I have heard that human interaction is the best and just listening or watching a DVD is not the way.

And if I cannot speak it with him day to day, will this confuse the great language skills he already has in English?

Thanks!

"Children are a gift from God."

by on Jan. 23, 2012 at 5:51 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
globalhorse45
by on Jan. 23, 2012 at 7:51 AM